Chicken Adobo ala Levin

CHEF [noun \ˈshef\]

: a skilled cook who manages the kitchen (as of a restaurant)

2 : cook

____________________________________________________________________________

One of my dream is to be a chef. So I decided to start living the dream….

I bought a Filipino cookbook online.

Image

In my own opinion, Chicken Adobo is the easiest dish to cook for a first timer.

Around 4:30 PM, Kalvin and I  went to SM San Lazaro to buy ingredients.

Here’s my list:

– 3/4 kg of chicken (drumstick and breast part)

– bay leaf

– garlic

– onion

– cooking oil

– brown sugar

– calamansi

– pepper

– vinegar

– soy sauce

– egg

Image

We got home at around six in the evening. How did I cook it?

I marinated the chicken for about an hour and a half with vinegar, soy sauce and calamansi. While I was waiting for the chicken, I prepared the other ingredients — garlic, onion, hard boiled eggs, pepper and brown sugar. Image

After an hour and a half, I separated the chicken from the marinated and then I saute’ the garlic until it turned light brown. I added the chicken and saute’ it also for about 10 minutes.

Image

I poured on the marinade to the chicken and added all the ingredients. I let it simmer for 30 – 45 minutes, then I added onions and egg to finish and let it simmer again for another 5 minutes and its already CHICKEN ADOBO.

IMG_6691[1]

Sounds simple? Yes? But it was really not. I now fully understood the saying “The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach”. It is a labor of love. I told myself “Mahirap pala umpisahan, magbibili ka pa ng mga kailangan, maghihiwa ka pa, ikaw din maghuhugas ng mga gagamitin mo, haaay. nakakapagod”. It was tiring but fulfilling. I was so happy seeing my two brothers eating what I cooked. I already told them that whatever the dish tasted, they have to eat it because they have no choice.

What I learned about this is that, if you want something to happen, you really need to do effort and take time to make it happen.

For a first timer like me, it’s worth it — the 5 hours of preparation.  I thank the Lord for opportunities like this to serve my family.

Image

Leave a Reply

